Album Review: Watching for Rain by Anne Trenning


Album Name: Watching for Rain
Artist: Anne Trenning
Year/Label: 2009 / Shadetree Records

Buy the CD
[Buy on Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I queued this album up in my media player and sat back to listen and got wound up on Reddit or some such not really paying attention to the music. Then suddenly I went, ‘wait, what am I listening to? This doesn’t sound like anything of mine!’ I don’t know why but I wasn’t expecting something this gorgeous. But I’m grateful because this is what I needed right now. It’s been a rough week.

Trenning’s music is piano based (I bet you guessed that, if you know me at all) but it’s very richly layered with tons of other instrumentation as well. It is an instrumental album so there’s no voice or lyrics on which to comment. But the music is lovely.

From Anne’s website:

Instrumental pianist Anne Trenning titled her third recording Watching for Rain, as a metaphor indicating a time of hopeful anticipation. “As our world continues to face the challenges of economy, war and the environment, we find ourselves looking toward new opportunities, for rain to come and refresh the earth, and for growth and positive change to occur.”

I’d say this is a perfect record for this time in our lives.

Perfect tea sipping , paper reading music. Along the lines of George Winston.

Track Listing
1. The Ash Grove
2. Silent Night II
3. Eden Hall
4. A Prayer For The World
5. The Welcome Song
6. You and Me
7. Days of Pie
8. Carolina Moon
9. And I ll Fly Away
10. I Want to be Ready
11. H. I. A. T. W.
12. Real Love
13. When You Say Nothing At All
14. Dancing With You (bonus track)
15. Benediction

[Anne Trenning Official Site]


1 comment for “Album Review: Watching for Rain by Anne Trenning

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.