Album Review: What a Lovely Surprise to Wake Up Here by Curtains for You

Album Name: What a Lovely Surprise to Wake up Here
Artist: Curtains for You
Year/Label: 2009 / Spark & Shine Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Wow, I really like this record! It’s a little theatrical, piano, sometimes cabaret. Sometimes ambient swooping vocals. It’s even kind of beachy, but cooler.

They even have been reminding me me of Muse at times, especially on Dead World. it’s too poppy to be true Muse, but the lead singer does that falsetto thing with his voice.

This album has a little bit of a Muppet/’Free to Be You and Me’ vibe. And I mean that in the best possible way. It’s kinda sunshiny 70s. Which is totally cool by me, being a kid of the 70s. But it also rocks out a bit.

There’s some nice harmonies and layered singing as well as fun piano. I like this more the more times I play it. I can see this being a big summer album for me.

Track Listing
1. The Nuclear Age
2. Dead World
3. Dumb Angel
4. Title Bout
5. Chain Link Fence
6. Road Trip To Disaster
7. Changing of the Masses
8. Small Change
9. Red Red Rose
10. Licorice Skies

[Curtains for You Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

2 comments for “Album Review: What a Lovely Surprise to Wake Up Here by Curtains for You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.