Album Review:Solid Poems on a Ghost of a Subject by Siren Circus

Album Name: Solid Poems on a Ghost of a Subject
Artist: Siren Circus
Year/Label: 2001 / Sargasso records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

They don’t come stranger than this.Twin sisters Cathryn V and Lucie Robson make evocative art music with their marvellous voices as the focal point.

They are whimsical and utterly serious, often in the space of the same song.

The music is a meeting of british progressive music and german cabaret. The sisters vocal experimentation has them sounding both like world weary vamps and cartoon animals. They juggle such contrasts with great skill.

It’s not always easy on the ear, but always refreshingly original. Siren Circus is the sort of a band that comes along once in a blue moon and they should be treasured.

Posted on December 18, 2001

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Anthem
2. Sweet Synchronicity
3. Duck is a Duck
4. My Father Was a Frenchman
5. Unstraightforward World
6. Subtext
7. Liquid Moon
8. Crevices
9. Penthesilea
10. Morning Sunlight
11. Got My Slap On
12. Closet Somethings
13. Sad Passenger
14. Doorman
15. World Was Young

[ Siren Circus Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.