Album Review:With Leak, Blink and Breath by Annika Bentley

Album Name: Leak, Blink and Breath
Artist: Annika Bentley
Year/Label: 2001 / Billy Likes Records

[Buy at Billy Likes Records]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

The talented young singer Annika Bentley has made a hauntingly beautiful new album. She rarely raises her voice, but the tension is still apparent in her songs.

Bentley covers a song by Songs:Ohia marvelously. Her lyrics are very odd and have a stronger resemblance to poetry than usual song lyrics. Her play with words is intriguing and suits the music fine.

All in all this is a wonderful album.

Posted on November 12, 2001

Track Listing

1. Supertronic
2. Lucid Lusitania
3. Fall is Coming
4. Starling
5. Hearts Newly Arrived
6. Gloria Wrist
7. Everything I Deserve is inside Static
8. What a Spell
9. Duty of Man at Wheel
10. Seaward
11. Pedicellaria

[Annika Bentley Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.