DVD Review: Live from Martha’s Vineyard: The Classic Concert by Carly Simon

Album Name: Live from Martha’s Vineyard: The Classic Concert
Artist: Carly Simon
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Wow, is this DVD ever a blast from the past. When I first put it in, I thought ‘man; she has not updated her wardrobe in like 20 years’. Then I realized everyone else was wearing the same style. Then I looked at the back of the case and realized this is not a new concert. This is a concert that occurred in 1987, was filmed then and is only now on DVD. Whew, I thought I was losing my mind! You might think I ought to infer that from the title, “The Classic Concert” but to be honest I don’t think I even saw that. I just popped it into the player. I look at and hear lot of stuff, give me a break…

Anyway…that being said, this was entertaining. Carly Simon is a legend in pop music. We all know that. She’s fabulous. She’s a fantastic songwriter, entertaining to watch and has a gorgeous voice.

The DVD has a lot of extra features as well as the concert. There is an interview and behind the scenes stuff as well as a scrapbook of photos and a discography so you can go to Amazon and buy all the CDs that are missing from your collection.

If you are a sometime Carly Simon fan or only really like her really old stuff (70s not 80s) then this might not be a must have. But if you are an avid fan you will want this. But then again you don’t need me to tell you that.

Posted on May 23, 2004

Track Listing
1. Give Me All Night
2. Anticipation
3. You Have to Hurt
4. You’re So Vain
5. Do the Walls Come Down
6. Two Hot Girls
7. It Happens Everyday
8. Nobody Does It Better
9. All I Want Is You
10. The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of
11. You Belong to Me
12. Coming Around Again (Itsy Bitsy Spider)
13. Never Been Gone
14. The Right Thing to Do (previously omitted song)


[Carly Simon Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.