Album Review: Knitting Songs by Savannah Jo Lack

Album Name: Knitting Songs
Artist: Savannah Jo Lack
Year/Label: 2010 / Independent

[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is another one that I knew I’d like judging by the cover art. I can’t even explain it, but there you are.

Savannah Jo Lack’s style is interesting. It’s a combination of pop, folk, electric, and I don’t know what else.

The songs have great melodies that will stick with you. Her voice is very appealing and easy on the ears.

I like how some of the songs are pretty straight up pop, such as Old Man Perry, which has some nice plucky string and is reminiscent of The Paper Raincoat.

But then she throws in some more off-center ones. Masked Man uses some minor keys making it a little haunting.

Then Bitch is also really cool. It reminded me of Katy Carr on at least one occasion.

I’ve been listening to this one for a few months now and all the songs sound like old friends to me. This is the sign of a great album.

Track Listing
1. Blank Page Day
2. Little Girl
3. Bitch
4. Dancer
5. Papa Don’t Go So Fast
6. Old Man Perry
7. Masked Man
8. Knitting Song
9. Ocean Dreams
10. Long Way To Go
11. Too Short, Too Beautiful

[Savannah Jo Lack Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


1 comment for “Album Review: Knitting Songs by Savannah Jo Lack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.