Album Review: Anything but Numb by Diona Devin


Album Name: Anything but Numb

Artist: Diona Devin

Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

This is another one of those albums I have a hard time reviewing. It’s not really my favorite style of music. I am not even sure what that is. It’s got a little country twang to it, a little rock, but mostly mainstream AAA pop.

The title track, “Anything But Numb”, reminds me of Melissa Etheridge though not as rockin’. Still quite radio friendly.

She has a very good voice, it’s sometimes smokey, sultry, but can also sound vulnerable.

I’m learning that the more spins I give this, the more I like it. It’s not yet going in my personal rotation, but it’s good. I guess if pressed I’d say it’s kinda Melissa Etheridge-lite. Which is not a bad thing in my book.

Track Listing
1. 30,000 Feet Above Goodbye
2. Anything But Numb
3. Airplane Light
4. No More Chaos
5. Bend
6. Freedom
7. I Walk The Floor
8. Untouchable
9. I Can’t Love You (If You Won’t Let Me)
10. Tears of Hercules

[Diona Devin Official Site]

[Diona Devin on MySpace]

[Buy at CD Baby]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.