Album Review: Redemption Songs by Daphne Rubin-Vega


Album Name: Redemption Songs

Artist: Daphne Rubin-Vega

Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

This is a bit of an eclectic record. It’s difficult to categorize. There are many flavors here. She begins with a mainly pop-rock song, moves into some Latin grooves, some adult contemporary and ends with a Muppet song. Yes, you read right, the record ends with The Rainbow Connection made famous by none other than Kermit the Frog. Her version is actually really cool.

Because the record seems a little “all over the place” it would be hard to say it’s something I would pick out to listen to, or be in the mood for because there are so many moods represented. However, I like that she shows many different sides of her talent. I might pick out some of these songs for mix CDs or something.

She has a nice voice, and I really can’t find anything wrong with the record. I’m just having trouble falling in love with it. But as they say, your mileage may vary.

Track Listing

1. Citizens of the World
2. Luca Ariel
3. Heart Strings
4. Angel Now
5. Hold On
6. Mental Tenant
7. En Estos Dias
8. Redemption Song
9. Bumpy Ride
10. The Rainbow Connection

[Daphne Rubin-Vega Official Site]

[Daphne Rubin-Vega My Space]

[Purchase CD]

3 comments for “Album Review: Redemption Songs by Daphne Rubin-Vega

  1. anna
    November 29, 2006 at 2:15 am

    Jamie Leonhart also covered Rainbow Connection and I had no idea it was a muppets song. Doh.

  2. hype
    December 1, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Wow, it’s really awesome to see Daphne reviewed on this site. However, I tend to think the album flows rather nicely from rock to latin ballad to acoustic pop song. “Citizens of the World” is just a perfect epic rock song. Always good to see Daphne represented.

  3. amy
    December 1, 2006 at 9:53 am

    Hey good to see you here! Glad you like Daphne. I like her too and I agree, that “Citizens of the World” is a great song.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *