New Robyn Hitchcock!

I know I’ve been absent lately, but this came across my desk today. I knew Robyn Hitchcock had a new album coming out (I just downloaded it yesterday) and I’ve been looking forward to it. I also am going to see him on Friday at The Current’s Wits series.

But it appears that Robyn Hitchcock has done a cover of Nick Drake’s “Parasite”.

Where Nick’s original was all acoustic, Robyn’s arrangement features a full orchestra – he says he was drawn to the song’s “detachment and paranoia.”

The song comes off the Joe Boyd-produced ‘Way To Blue’ tribute album out April 6, 2013.

Now I can share this with you…

Another voice I love is doing a song on it too, Lisa Hannigan. Hear it here at [NPR]

Here’s the tracklist

‘Way To Blue: The Songs of Nick Drake’

01. Luluc – “Things Behind the Sun”
02. Scott Matthews – “Place to Be”
03. Green Gartside – “Fruit Tree”
04. Shane Nicholson – “Poor Boy”
05. Krystle Warren – “Time Has Told Me”
06. Robyn Hitchcock – “Parasite”
07. Danny Thompson & Zoe Rahman – “One of These Things First” (instrumental)
08. Vashti Bunyan – “Which Will”
09. Lisa Hannigan – “Black Eyed Dog”
10. Shane Nicholson – “Rider on the Wheel”
11. Teddy Thompson – “River Man”
12. Luluc & Lisa Hannigan – “Saturday Sun”
13. Scott Matthews – “When the Day Is Done”
14. Luluc – “Fly”
15. Teddy Thompson & Krystle Warren – “Pink Moon”

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.