Album Review: Alive In This Dream by Lori Hawk

Album Name: Alive In This Dream
Artist: Lori Hawk
Year/Label: 2003 / Strata Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Lori Hawk’s new album is very impressive. Her multifaceted compositions and beautiful voice entrance. “Princess Mary” is a lot like early Tori Amos in its melody and quirky charm. Hawk has added her own approach to it though.

“Alive” is a folk-flavoured song with a haunting feel. Her strong vocals impress here.

“Free” is an up-tempo number with a progressive slant. Hawk sings it with conviction.

“Hand to the Wall” features an inspired use of the didgeridoo. Lori Hawk’s singing blends with the tribal theme of the music.

“As You Hold Me” is romantic and lush. It deserves to be a hit.

“Alive in this Dream” is a lovely album that should please many listeners.

Posted on July 18, 2003

Track Listing
1. Listening for You
2. Princess Mary
3. Alive
4. For the Kings
5. Free
6. Oracle
7. Hand to the Wall
8. Swings
9. As You Hold Me
10. Today
11. The Edge

[Lori Hawk Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.