Album Review: Amourettes by Les Chauds Lapins

Album Name: Amourettes
Artist: Les Chauds Lapins
Year/Label: 2011 / Barbès Records

[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Well, I do love me some French pop (music, not soda) and this band is no exception. Though there’s a touchy of old timey cabaret to this. Part is the compositions and part is the production. There’s something about it that just seems old. And I mean that in the very best way possible. As in, I feel I’ve gone back in time.

Les Chauds Lapins means The Hot Rabbits. And I don’t mean temperature-hot if you get my drift..wink-wink. The band is headed up by Kurt Hoffman and Meg Reichardt and they specialize in re-arranging French swing classics from the 1920s through the 40s. So this is a bit different from most of the other stuff in my rotation and I will say it’s a very welcome surprise.

This is perfect for playing when you are having a French themed cocktail or dinner party. What? You don’t do that often? You should!

I’d also love to see them live. But for now, crank it up and pretend you’re in Paris in the 30s.

Track Listing
1. Nouveau Bonheur
2. Cette Nuit La
3. Le Fils de La Femme Poisson
4. Je T’Aime
5. Presque Oui
6. Vous Avez L’eclat de la Rose
7. Quand j’etais Petit
8. C’est arrivé
9. Voulez Vous Danser|Madame
10. Si Je m’etais couché
11. Ce Petit Chemin
12. Moi|je crache dans l’eau
13. Pluie

[Les Chauds Lapins Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.