Album Review: Beautifully Scarred by Anne Deming

Album Name: Beautifully Scarred
Artist: Anne Deming
Year/Label: 2001 / Brutally Honest

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Anne has an incredibly strong voice that will give you chills and she writes wonderful songs that will take you through the gamut of emotions. After even one listen they will stick with you, especially, the tracks, “Christopher” and “Distraction”.

She’s been compared to Natalie Merchant (a comparison that seems to be thrown around a lot lately) but I don’t hear it. She’s unique. She can sound both strong and forceful or soft and vulnerable.

Anne says that “Beautifully Scarred” refers to her body, which is scarred from past surgeries, but it’s clear that it also applies to the emotional scars/marks left by others.

Posted on April 24, 2001

Track Listing
1. Good Enough
2. I’m not OK
3. Christopher
4. Distraction
5. Talk Me Down
6. Screaming
7. How Many Times
8. The Perfect Girl
9. Now That I’m Gone
10. Let it Rain
11. Twist the Knife
12. Bring Me Happiness

[Anne Deming Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.