Album Review: Blue Sunshine by The Glove

Album Name: Blue Sunshine
Artist: The Glove
Year/Label: 2006 / Rhino


Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This CD is a re-release by a band that I didn’t even know existed until recently. They’re called The Glove and they are Robert Smith from the Cure and Steven Severin from Siouxie and the Banshees. The record was originally released in 1983 though the union began in 1979.

Apparently this was supposed to be their stab at psychedelia. I guess I fail to see that. But I’m totally willing to take the blame on that point. To me psychedelia is more like XTC’s Dukes of the Stratosphere (which I LOVE). . But this is pretty cool whatever you want to call it.

I first had my husband listen to this because he’s a huge fan of both Siouxie and The Cure. He gave it back to me with a shrug and said, “It sounds like a cross between Cocteau Twins and New Order.” Wha? Well, give him a break; he only listened to the first disc.

I prefer the second disc. That one has Robert Smith vocal demos on it. “Mouth to Mouth” sounds great. Its quite vintage Cure with the echoey haunting vocals and the semi-creepy lyrics such as, “Your body grows more beautiful with every bite I take.”

If you are a Cure or Siouxie fan I do think you should have this. As long as you don’t have to spend a fortune on it. However I will say that the packaging is very nice. It comes with a booklet that tells the story of how these two met (in a bar!) and how they worked together. It’s pretty interesting.

For a collector? A must. For a casual listener/fan? Put it on your Christmas list.

Posted on September 27, 2006

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Like An Animal
2. Looking Glass Girl
3. Sex-Eye-Make-Up
4. Mr. Alphabet Says
5. A Blues In Drag
6. Punish Me With Kisses
7. This Green City
8. Orgy
9. Perfect Murder
10. Relax
11. The Man From Nowhere (original instrumental mix)
12. Mouth To Mouth (Landray Vocal Mix)
13. Punish Me With Kisses (Mike Hedges Mix)
14. The Tightrope (original instrumental mix)
15. Like An Animal (12″ Club What Club? mix)

Disc: 2
1. Like An Animal (RS vocal demo)
2. Looking Glass Girl (RS vocal demo)
3. Sex-Eye-Make-Up (RS vocal demo)
4. Mr. Alphabet Says (alt RS vocal demo)
5. A Blues In Drag (alt RS vocal demo)
6. Punish Me With Kisses (RS vocal demo)
7. This Green City (RS vocal demo)
8. Orgy (RS vocal demo)
9. Perfect Murder (alt RS vocal demo)
10. Relax (alt RS vocal demo)
11. The Man From Nowhere (alt instrumental mix)
12. Mouth To Mouth (RS vocal demo)
13. Opened The Box (A Waltz) (RS vocal demo)
14. The Tightrope (Almost Time) (RS vocal demo)
15. And All Around Us The Mermaids Sang (AKA Torment) (RS vocal demo)
16. Holiday 80 (original instrumental mix)

[The Cure Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.