Album Review: Break by Natalie Wattre Band

Album Name: Break
Artist: Natalie Wattre Band
Year/Label: 2000 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Well the first thing that will strike you about this CD is Natalie’s incredible booming voice. Think Janis Joplin or Melissa Etheridge with anger management issues. Natalie can really belt it out. But she is also capable of the ballad. Her voice is smoky, growly and sexy all at once.

Then you’ll be impressed with her songwriting. These songs are well written and performed. Natalie plays the hell out of her guitar. I’m told she breaks strings on a regular basis and that’s no surprise.

“Lost” is a fabulous way to start out the CD, it shows her power and song writing skills. It could be on the radio (if radio played songs worth a damn anymore).

“Unconditional Love” and “I Will Comfort You” are good examples of Natalie’s tenderness.

“Reeling” anther one of my favorites. It has a nice rhythm and is instantly likeable.

I had the pleasure of hosting a living room show featuring Natalie and I’ll tell you, her voice is just as powerful without the benefit of production.

This is a great CD for driving fast with the windows down and rocking along to.

Posted on May 11, 2003

Track Listing
1. Lost
2. Tarnished
3. Coming Undone
4. Break
5. Wayside
6. Unconditional Love
7. I Will Comfort You
8. Nothing
9. Reeling
10. Everything Changes
11. How Does it Feel
12. Calm
13. Humor Me
14. Backseat
15. Without You
16. Shine

[Natalie Wattre Band Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.