Album Review: Cathartic by Marianne Keith

Album Name: Cathartic
Artist: Marianne Keith
Year/Label: 2010 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Marianne Keith’s [previous release]. She reminded me of Vanessa Carlton. But I thought she was too produced. I thought it was very mainstream and young-sounding, that was in 2007.

Today, I hear something quite different! Her voice is a little sweetsy at times. But it’s also kinda bluesy, pop…more pop than Etheridge or the like tho. She actually reminds me a little of the Patty Griffin stuff I’ve heard. I actually made that note more than once.

Stand out songs for me are:

Flood has a little Muppet thing going on! I think it’s the horns. It’s a marchy fun tune.

Worst News is good. It’s very radio friendly.

Hate. It’s super gritty and cool. It shows her voice well too. This is my favorite track.

The title song, Cathartic is also suited for radio.

It’s a good album with some real gems.

Track Listing
1. Dirty Mouth
2. Unspoken
3. Everyone Warned Me
4. Everyone Leaves
5. Flood
6. Cage
7. Gotta Give In
8. Isn’t It A Lie
9. Meant To Be An Angel
10. Worst News
11. Your Touch
12. Las Vegas
13. Cathartic
14. Hate
15. Promise To Resonate

[Marianne Keith Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

1 comment for “Album Review: Cathartic by Marianne Keith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.