Album Review: Charlie’s Lonely Sunday by Dafni

Album Name: Charlie’s Lonely Sunday
Artist: Dafni
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Dafni’s previous releases, Red and Drifting in Circles back in 2005.

Those I recall being much more in the jazz realm. I’ve always appreciated Dafni’s ability to mix genres on her records without losing focus. She certainly does this here again.

Let’s Pretend has a Latin feel while much of the rest of the record is actually country or bluegrassy sounding. Some songs even have banjo! It’s not the kind of country you are probably thinking of though. It’s not Shania, it’s more Neko. More Western than what we think of as country. Like Old Country. When it was good. You know.

Dimes is a great opener, it just makes you want to get up and move to it.

Honey has a great rhythm and really shows off the way she trills her voice.

I also love Down and Dirty. How fun!

She has a really mature sounding voice that works equally well in all the styles she does. What I think would be great to hear is more torchy stuff from her. I think her voice would suit that genre too. Something like Cry me a River or Gloomy Sunday. Mmmm. But I am enjoying this muchly so I am happy.

I really enjoy all of Dafni’s albums, but I think this one is my favorite. So far anyway!

Posted on November 30, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 Dimes
2 Let’s Pretend
3 Broken Letter
4 Complicated
5 Down and Dirty
6 This One Dance
7 Bottom of a Well
8 Honey Honey
9 Lonely Sunday
10 Carried Away
11 What You Meant to Me
12 Never Tell You Why
13 Angeleno

[Dafni Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.