Album Review: City Morning Song by Sarah Shannon

Album Name: City Morning Song
Artist: Sarah Shannon
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Sarah Shannon sang in indiepoppers Velocity Girl and moved on after the nineties.

Her solo debut was more classic pop and this second effort continues in that vein.

The title song with it sophisticated orchestration and cool sinning is an instant hit.

The Bacharach stylings of “Along the Way” are well done. It also evokes Saint Etienne’s dreamy songs.

“Fading Heart” is a classic ballad, Shannon’s lovely vocals wrapping themselves around a subtle melody.

“Sunlit Smile” is sweetly romantic and sums the album up well.

Romantic, lovelorn songs for dreamers all over. This music will make you happy.

Posted on April 13, 2007

Track Listing

1. City Morning Song
2. Along The Way
3. Near And Far
4. Fading Heart
5. On And On
6. Shiny Little Song
7. Salton Sea
8. Postwar Hope
9. Sunlit Smile
10. Hey Heartache
11. Watch Over You
12. All We Will Be
[Sarah Shannon Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.