Album Review: Cocooned by Sarah Fimm

Album Name: Cocooned
Artist: Sarah Fimm
Year/Label: 2002 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Sarah Fimm’s album is a brilliant record. She plays the piano both intensely and with a great deal of finesse.

Her songs are fascinating and fierce. There.s the high voltage opener .Scream. which is awash with screams but retains its beauty just the same.

“Sexual Animals” is sensual and disturbing with eerie lines like “Unbuttoning my skin I breathe in”. When Fimm sings “Come inside of me” its both an invitaion and a threat.

No artist this side of early PJ Harvey has managed such a juxtaposition with so much style.

“Circus Type Thing” is a twisted, nighmarish visit to the circus that owes a lot to Tom Waits.

Elsewhere there’s loveliness and desperation aplenty. “Cocooned” is no light entertainment, it makes a deep impression on the listener.

Posted on May 3, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Scream
2. Sexual Animals
3. Bonny at Morn
4. After the Blue
5. Valhalla
6. Circus Type Thing
7. Bombay Cafe
8. Running from the Whole
9. Red Paper Bag
10. Sets Us Apart
11. Cocooned
12. At Dawn

[Sarah Fimm Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.