Album Review: Democracy by Stephanie Rearick

Album Name: Democracy
Artist: Stephanie Rearick
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I have a special place in my heart for Stephanie Rearick and her odd brand of popish carnival-rock music. I have reviewed several of her releases in the past both with her now defunk band The Coma Savants and her solo work. I am always intrigued.

Her songs can be haunting with the echoey vocals and dreamy melodies. She does a lot of interesting things with both melody and production.

The songwriting is always quirky and complex and sometimes even silly. She is a very talented piano player as well. I’ve watched her play live and it’s a treat.

“Night” has a lovely classical feel and the echoey vocals over the top make a very nice package

There is a great cover of “Across the Universe” with some really gorgeous piano.

She also makes good use of dissonant sounds and the errant piano “plunk” that is off key, but is obviously intentional and just adds more character.

I’m not sure what more I can say about Stephanie than I already have, either you get her or you don’t. I happen to think it’s pretty cool.

Posted on July 15, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1. Flyboy
2. Motorcade
3. Nothing New
4. Night
5. Democracy
6. Across the Universe
7. Cosmos and Asters
8. Dear Shadow
9. In the Rain
10. Birthright
11. Man Who Stole Tomorrow
12. Native Tongue
13. You Don’t Know
14. Sonnet Entitled How to Run the World)

[Stephanie Rearick Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.