Album Review: Piece of the Light by Shea Breaux Wells

Album Name: Piece of the Light
Artist: Shea Breaux Wells
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This record really makes me feel like I’m sitting in a jazz piano bar sipping a martini.

Wells has a marvelously sexy sultry voice that is perfect for this genre.

She wrote all the songs here except for Candy Man (and a couple of other covers). I have to say, it’s never been one of my favorite songs and I don’t care for it here either. I do like the song Blackbird but I don’t really think it lends itself to jazz. I really like her original compositions better.

This is one talented lady, not only did she write most of these songs, she produced the album and did the lion’s share of the arranging as well.

Her piano player, Noam Lemish, is amazing. If you ever wanted to know why they use the term “tickling the ivories” listen to him and I think you’ll get it.

Great album for those who like a little contemporary jazz to spice up their record collections.

Posted on July 15, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read

1. Soothe Me
2. Warm
3. Through the Fire
4. Piece of the Light
5. The Keeper
6. The Candy Man
7. State of Love
8. Blackbird
9. Finest of Lines
10. Ship of Music
11. Sands of Time
12. Nothing Stays the Same
13. Always Something There to Remind Me

[Shea Breaux Wells Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.