Album Review: I Name You Destroyer by Jucifer

Album Name: I Name You Destroyer
Artist: Jucifer
Year/Label: 2003 / Velocette Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Jucifer is a duo consisting of Amber Valentine onvocals and guitar and Ed Livengood on drums. Their music is heavy on distortion and it uses Valentine’svocals well.

“Amplifier” is a rockin’ number with an intriguinglydrowsy vocal and some sterling drumming.

“Queen B” sees Valentine giving it a pure metal growl andplaying her guitar like a demon. The song has somesemblance of melody beneath all the distortion too.

“When She goes out” is My Bloody Valentine with thevolume turned to eleven meets a modern Black Sabbath.

“Memphis” sees the band going trip-hop without givingup their basic sound. “Vulture Story” is relentlessand tough and still very catchy.

“I Name you Destroyer” is a powerful record that willgive the rock fans what they want, and it just mightconvert fans of other genres too.

Posted on November 10, 2003

Track Listing
1. Little Fever
2. Amplifier
3. Pinned In Glass
4. Queen B
5. When She Goes Out
6. Torch
7. Memphis
8. Fight Song
9. Dissolver
10. Vulture Story
11. Firefly
12. Lazing
13. Surface Tension
14. Undertow
15. Sea Blind

[Jucifer Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.