Album Review: I’m in Crinoline by Amy Kohn

Album Name: I’m in Crinoline
Artist: Amy Kohn
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Amy Kohn plays piano and accordion on this her second album. She manages to instill her songs with a unique flavor. I can’t remember when I last heard something this special.

“1977 Swimming Lessons” is the sound of accessible freeform jazz, something they said could never be.

“Sweet Cacophony” continues the trend by being an experimental but still catchy track. I think the brilliant Amy X Neuburg has a kindred spirit at last. The quieter passages contrast with the rushing surges of ,yes, sweet cacophony.

“My Epoxied Rose” is wonderfully weird and sweet.

The title song is fabulously lovely and reminds me of Jane Siberry.

Amy Kohn is a special talent and she deserves a wide audience.

Posted on April 25, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Styrofoam
2. 1977 Swimming Lessons
3. Sweet Cacophony
4. He’s on Vacation
5. Glacier Lady
6. My Epoxied Rose
7. Michigan
8. August Wedding
9. The History of this Handwriting
10. Signature
11. I’m in Crinoline
12. Is that the Moon?
13. Mistake

[Amy Kohn Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.