Album Review: Indian Girl by Sumitra

Album Name: Indian Girl
Artist: Sumitra
Year/Label: 2004 / Next Generation Enterprises

[Buy at Amazon]
Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve been listening to a lot of folksy pop lately, which I adore, but it’s always nice to plop something different into the CD player.

This is a very pleasant, soothing CD. I guess I’d call it somewhere between jazz and R&B with a touch of world beat thrown in.

Sumitra’s voice is lovely. It’s smooth, but smokey and sexy. Reminds me a little of Sade. Not that the voices are similar, they’re really not, it’s just that kind of sexy feel.

The instrumentation here is very professional, these people sound great together. Obviously all very talented musicians and writers.

The production is also first class, there’s a very warm, full feeling to this recording.

If you’re looking for something to ‘set the mood’ (if ya know what I mean) this is a good bet.

Stand out songs: Indian Girl, I Know it’s Late, I’m Afraid of the Dark (and no, I don’t only like songs that begin with the letter I, it just turned out that way).

Posted on July 25, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Indian Girl
2. If My Clothes Were Torn
3. Destiny 2001
4. I Know it’s Late
5. 20 Years
6. I’m Afraid Of The Dark
7. At The End
8. My Love’s Like a Red Red Rose
9. Can You Imagine?
10. Orange & Gold
11. No Words
12. One Life
13. Empty Fields

[Sumitra Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.