Album Review: Love Always Follows Me by Lauren Agnelli

Album Name: Love Always Follows Me
Artist: Lauren Agnelli
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Lauren Agnelli has a bit of history behind her. She’s written for Creem Magazine and been in bands called Nervus Rex and the Washington Squares.

Today she sings a loungey mix of her own songs and classic ones.

“Mi Querida” is a nice little bossa with shades of Astrud Gilberto. “The Ballad of a ladies man” is a jazzy song that has her intriguingly stepping into the protagonist’s head.

The lovely “Love’s Afterglow” sounds like a grown up sister of the girl groups of the sixties.

“It Must be Tuesday (I can’t reach you)” is lovingly rendered and sad.

The version of Kurt Weill’s “September Song” is delivered with class and sophistication.

“Love Always Follows me” is a charming and intelligent collection of songs.

Posted on November 18, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. I’m Confessin
2. Mi Querida
3. The Ballad of The Ladies Man
4. Special Someone
5. Love Always Follows Me
6. Love’s Afterglow
7. Bitter / Sweet
8. it Must Be Tuesday (I Can’t Reach You)
9. That Kind Of Boy
10. Western Winds
11. Sand Castle Song
12. September Song
13. (reprise) I’m Confessin
14. On The Street Where You Live
15. Technicolor Shadows

[Lauren Agnelli Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.