Album Review: Make You Love by Vanessa Daou

Album Name: Make You Love
Artist: Vanessa Daou
Year/Label: 2000 / EQ8R Music Group

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Vanessa Daou got a breakthrough with her astonishing interpretations of Erica Jong’s poems on “Zipless”.

Since then she’s made a few more albums. On the new one she continues to collaborate with Erica Jong on the tracks “Aphrodite” and “Honey in a Jar”. These songs are obvious standouts, but the rest of this smooth collection of late night music is good too.

Daou whispers rather than sings, which works fine on this material.

Vanessa Daou is not a million miles away from Sade on this album, so fans of that singer might want to try this one.

Posted on February 9, 2002

Track Listing
1. You
2. A Little Bit Of Pain
3. Mess Around
4. Make You Love
5. Show Me
6. Lovechild
7. Aphrodite
8. I Would For You
9. A Little Bit Of Pain (Ii)
10. Juliette
11. Honey In A Jar
12. Bittersweet

[Vanessa Daou Official Site]



Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: un disco excelente, eclectico y sensual. desde el incomparable zipless, hasta este disco, vanessa daou demuestra que sus trabajos son una obra de arte. Unico sonido mezclado con elegancia y sutileza. Excelente!!
name: gabo on Thursday, December 2, 2004

Editor’s Note: This is how Babelfish translated this to English: “An excellent, eclectico and sensual disc from incomparable zipless, to this disc, vanessa daou demonstrates that their works are an art work. Unico sound mixed with elegance and subtility. Excellent!”

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: The album is my favorite. I «fell in love» with it tanhks to Etienne Daho, a french singer (I’m french also, sorry for my english).. The 4th song «Make you love» is fantastic. Thank you Vanessa.
by name: mhacbe on Tuesday, November 30, 2004
Rating: 5 Stars Comment: The energy and vivacity of Daou music is therapeutic–Its not easy to be among people and yet be alone–Daou music relieves this burden
by bobby glenon Sunday, November 14, 2004

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.