Album Review: Mutiny of Shadows by Amy Fabry


Album Name: Mutiny of Shadows
Artist: Amy Fabry
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

Buy Now
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Amy Fabry’s debut album, [Cultivated Pearl] in 2001. I seem to remember her being pretty jazzy. This one follows suit, but she also branches out a bit into the contemporary adult pop category (ok I realize they’re not that different from each other anyway).

Nobody Like Jimmy is a good opener. It’s catchy and gives a good glimpse into what’s in store for the rest of the album.

Girl That You Were adds a little bit of electronic stuff too. I like the rhythm and melody of this one. It’s got a super catchy chorus.

Gentleman’s Agreement has a bit of a beach calypso feel. Must be the wocka guitar.

Love Roses and Gravity’s Architect are favorites of mine. The piano shines and so does her voice.

Some of these songs remind me of Basia. (Remember her? [New Day For You]?) But I think I actually like Fabry’s voice better. She has a perfect voice for this genre. It’s crystal clear

A nice, sophisticated-without-being-snooty, jazzy record for your collection.

Track Listing
1 Nobody Like Jimmy
2 Execution Stay
3 Girl That You Were
4 On The Rise
5 Cybil
6 Menthol
7 Love Roses
8 Gentleman’s Agreement
9 Smithereens
10 Gravity’s Architect
11 Ain’t Givin’ You Up
12 Tin Star Institute

[Amy Fabry Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.