Album Review: Of Rapture by Gina French

Album Name: Of Rapture
Artist: Gina French
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Gina French has one of those voices that can sing just about anything and have you listening intently. On her second album she has a bluesy sound and some fabulous songs.

“Break the Silence” revolves round a strong guitar line and French singing of breaking free from constraints.

The title track was apparently inspired by the film “The English Patient” and it speaks compellingly of consuming passion. “You have awakened this world inside me one universe, with no boundaries I will give you full surrender” she sings.

The music sounds Middle eastern, no doubt thanks to the use of a dumbek.

The splendid “Something About The Night” rocks out, sounding like a subtler Bonnie Raitt. French’s volcanic voice is in fine fettle as she sings of coming to life at night.

“Unleash” continues the theme from the title track, but perhaps a little less ecstatically.

We end with a bonus track, which turns out to be an early version of the title song.

This is a powerful record all round and one that would sell plenty in a fair world.

Posted on January 15, 2005

Track Listing
1. Hard Way
2. Break The Silence
3. Of Rapture
4. Spring’s Angel
5. Something About The Night
6. Rings True
7. Only For You
8. Spanish Lace
9. Midnight Tracks
10. November Days
11. Unleash

[Gina French Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.