Album Review: The You & the Now by Jorane

Album Name: The You & the Now
Artist: Jorane
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Jorane is a gifted singer and cellist who has made a number of albums in French, now she’s released her first in English. “Fragile” is a lovely, serene song with some heartfelt singing. “Blue Planet” has lyrics co-written with Simon Wilcox (whose debut I reviewed here some time ago). It’s a beautiful, slightly surreal moment. Jorane’s superlative cello playing and her wondrous singing are very evocative.

The unexpected cover of Donna Summer’s “I feel Love” is an inspired twist. It sounds terrific with a cello. “Good Luck” has words co-written with Lisa Germano and it shows.

Jorane sings of wanting someone’s time and not their wishes for good luck in a time of crisis.

“Pour ton Sourire” the only song here in French was written by Daniel Lanois who also plays on the track. It’s dreamy and lovely, as his songs tend to be.

“The you and the now” is more accessible than previous albums by Jorane, but her edge has not been lost. She joins a long line of exceptional Canadian musicians and should appeal to many.

Posted on January 8, 2005

Track Listing
1. Stay
2. Fragile
3. Blue Planet
4. Cave
5. I Feel Love
6. Roll the Stars
7. Good Luck
8. Pour Ton Sourire
9. Red Mountains
10. Come Back Again
11. Am I the Sky

[Jorane Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.