Album Review: Pull Me Through by Patricia Zentilli and Patti Loach


Album Name: Pull Me Through
Artist: Patricia Zentilli and Patti Loach
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Patricia Zentilli is an actress and singer and on this cd pianist Patti Loach joins her for some nice versions of other’s songs.

We get a spirited version of Dar Williams’ The Babysitter’s Here which brings out the best in Zentilli’s lovely vocals.

The humorous Taylor the Latte Boy by Zina Goldrich and Marcy Heisler gets a great version.

Give Me Java, Give Me Joy” admonishes the narrator to her crush. Loach’s backing is spirited and cunning.

I’ve Learned to Let Things Go by John Bucchino is a soft song with an entrancing lyric well delivered. Loach keeps the backing simple but effective.

The title song is very touching and the duo gets to the heart of it easily.

This is a fine example of how good music can happen just by singing some well-chosen songs and get the right people to play them with you. The strength is in the performers’ skills and the songs’ intricate writing. Sometimes less is more.

Track Listing
1 A Way Back to Then
2 The Babysitter’s Here
3 Taylor the Latte Boy
4 Nothing Really Happened
5 Somewhere That’s Green
6 I’ve Learned to Let Things Go
7 Love Quiz
8 Alfie
9 Oh, How I Loved You
10 Still Hurting
11 Just Not Now
12 Pull Me Through
13 I’ll Be Around
14 Who I Am
15 The Honey Tree

[Patricia Zentilli Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.