Album Review: Queenie by Queenie

Album Name: Queenie
Artist: Queenie
Year/Label: 2001 / Fierce Petticoat Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Queenie has what it takes to stand out in a crowd. Her soft voice and evocative sound contribute to that.

Songs like the thougthful “Lost” certainly help too. There she sings of lost love in an interesting way.

In “Hiding” the narrator longs to escape an unjust society. It’s a feeling most of us can relate to and Queenie describes it in a very realistic fashion.

“Monsters” is tense and lovely at once.

Queenie’s debut is a very strong effort that deserves a listen.

Posted on May 20, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Lost
2. Hey Soldier
3. Hiding
4. Away
5. Monsters
6. Fantasy
7. Story
8. Turn Up the Radio
9. Jonathan
10. All My Time
11. Yoshi Cried
12. America
13. Monsters

[Queenie Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.