Album Review: Reflections by Jakki Jelene

Album Name: Reflections
Artist: Jakki Jelene
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Jakki Jelene is another artist I “met” on MySpace. I listened to a couple of her tracks and really liked them.

I’d describe her music as ethereal, ambient soundscapes with a lovely layered vocals floating over all. It’s reminiscent of Tresspassers William, Sleepthief, Delerium and the like.

“What Are You Waiting for” is an achingly sad song about knowing your partner is halfway out the door and while not wanting her/him to leave, it’s almost better to just get it over with.

I especially like “Life Line”. Reminds me of Everything But the Girl’s song with Massive Attack.

Her version of “Silent Night” is lovely. More acoustic than the rest of the songs, but still very nice.

Very nice chill time record.

Posted on March 21, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Comatose
2. Instrument
3. What Are You Waiting For?
4. It Never Stops
5. Time (It’s Not Too Late)
6. Cold Inside
7. Life Line
8. Treasure
9. Lullaby
10. My Sanctuary
11. To The Sea
12. Silent Night (Bonus Track)

[Jakki Jelene Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.