Album Review: Restoration by Doria Roberts

Album Name: Restoration
Artist: Doria Roberts
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

The first thing that hits me about Doria Roberts is that face and voice…or look and style do not always have to match. I’d seen several photos of Roberts on her website before the CD arrived in the mail. I was expecting gutsy, growly, ass-kicking blues. I’m pleased to say, that does not seem to be what Doria Roberts is all about.

“Restoration” is a very accessible CD full of folk/rock songs that are well written and expertly performed. I can imagine that she’s great live. Her voice at times is reminiscent of Beth Williams, though there’s not as much country flair in Doria’s music.

Stand out songs for me are: “Perfect” the opening track which set the scene for the rest of the CD. “Crazy Like Me” has a nice melody and shows her voice well.

If you like folk-rock with a touch of a southern feel check out Doria Roberts.

Posted on July 4, 2003

Track Listing
1. Perfect
2. Dying Man’s Wish (It’s 5am)
3. Jesus Is Coming
4. Nothing Sold, Nothing Bought
5. I Try to Scream
6. Restoration
7. Thinking of You
8. Crazy Like Me
9. I’m Not Going Home
10. Bluebird
11. Portrait

[Doria Roberts Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.