Album Review: Scarlet Mark by Liza Lee

Album Name: Scarlet Mark
Artist: Liza Lee
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Liza Lee’s a gifted jazz singer and her choice of songs is pretty bold even in this day and age.

We get songs by the Beatles, Ani Di Franco and Tori Amos mixed with the expected standards. Lee’s vocals are strong and lend something to the songs.

Ani’s “Heartbreak Even” is rendered sassy and modern jazz with Bruce Barth’s piano standing out nicely.

Bowie’s “Lady Grinning Soul” is a sensuous delight here. Without changing the song too much, Lee brings out a doomed romanticism with the help of Rachelle Garniez (a strong singer in her own right) claviola.

“Love for Sale” gets a sprightly reading. The title song is the sole original penned by Lee and bassist Pat O’Leary. It’s a soul-searching song in a slowly unfurling tempo.

This is a very fine jazz record that should appeal to many, not just jazz buffs.

Posted on January 20, 2005

Track Listing
1. Strawberry Fields Forever
2. Heartbreak Even
3. Baltimore Oriole
4. Lady Grinning Soul
5. Loom
6. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
7. Love For Sale
8. Down In The Depths
9. Cornflake Girl
10. Scarlet Mark
11. All The Answers

[Liza Lee Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.