Album Review: Small Fires by Adrienne Pierce

Album Name: Small Fires
Artist: Adrienne Pierce
Year/Label: 2003 / Insect Girl Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Adrienne Pierce’s debut is astonishing. Her alternative style mixes rock and pop.

The dreamy “Falling Asleep” is reminiscent of Mazzy Star’s spectral sound.

The poppy “What You’re Looking For” rests on fuzzy guitar and Pierce’s adorable vocal.

The more conventional singer-songwriter number “Sylvia” is amazing.

The intimacy of the song and Pierce’s singing is just great.

“Death by Water” is just plain creepy. It’s based on a poem by Lorna Cozier and the musical backdrop is haunting.

“Small” is jazzy and fun. “Absinthe Minded” takes the nice pun of the title and makes a poignant song about a wish for forgetfulness.

“Small Fires” is not small at all; in fact it can probably light a bonfire

Posted on May 23, 2003

Track Listing
1. Arizona
2. Falling Asleep
3. What You’re Wishing For
4. Sylvia
5. Insectgirl
6. Death By Water
7. Small
8. Psycho Therapist
9. Absinthe Minded
10. Every Sprinkler
11. Arizona (Radio Edit)

[Adrienne Pierce Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.