Album Review: Solar Bipolar by Randi Russo

Album Name: Solar Bipolar
Artist: Randi Russo
Year/Label: 2002 / Olive Juice Music

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Randi Russo’s debut offers intelligently nervy rock. Russo’s voice has a few shades of Patti Smith and her songwriting is equally poetic but raw.

“Adored” is edgy and tuneful with some great vaguely eastern sounding guitar parts.

“League of the Brigands” is a fairly straightforward pop song that’s elevated by Russo’s confident delivery. “Push-Pull” is folk-influenced and hauntingly lovely.

“Solar Bipolar” is an inspired debut that should appeal to fans of the aforementioned Patti Smith and PJ Harvey.

Posted on April 8, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Dead Citizen
2. Adored
3. So It Must Be True
4. League Of The Brigands
5. Wonderland
6. Lucy’s Plan
7. Matchless
8. Push-Pull
9. Sacred Silence
10. Dress
11. Possession
12. We Forget

[Randi Russo Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.