Album Review: The Journey by Freud

Album Name: The Journey
Artist: Freud
Year/Label: 2006 / Tantajo Records

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Ingo Hauss formed Freud with singer Cora O’Donovan. Their second album adds singer Maria Sanchez to the band. The sound is multi-layered and makes me think of Enya and others of that ilk.

“Eden” has a light Celtic influence from the instrumentation to O’Donovan’s soft singing.

The lovely “Mystery Moon” sounds more exotic, the lead vocal surrounded by layers of keyboards.

“Garden of Love” sees Sanchez take center stage to an interesting backdrop. Her spoken word passages in Spanish are intriguing.

“The Great Crossing” is an epic track that features some great playing by Hauss. Freud’s new album is a delight and should appeal to many.

Posted on February 8, 2007

Track Listing
1. Déjà vu
2. The River
3. Eden
4. Mystery Moon
5. The Avebury Circle
6. Garden of Love
7. The Journey
8. Phantasmagoria
9. The Great Crossing
10. El Jardin de Amor
11. World of Wonders

[Freud Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.