Album Review: The Little Willies by The Little Willies

Album Name: The Little Willies
Artist: The Little Willies
Year/Label: 2006 / Milking Bull Records / EMI

[Buy at Amazon]
[Buy at Amazon UK]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

OK first of all the title? I mean come on, that’s funny!

The first I heard of this was when someone sent me an email with sound samples and asked if I wanted to review this new release. When they told me whom the vocalist was I almost fell down.

I’d love to keep it a secret from you and see if you can guess it, but you might know already. You might also guess it, but I sent the music clip to some friends and family members and they were stumped. She has a distinct voice, I just think that you wouldn’t expect sweet little Norah Jones (yep, it’s her) to sing songs like this.

From the first time I heard her voice I loved it. There’s just something so peaceful and beautiful about the way she sings that I can’t get enough. But here you’re going to hear something really different.

These songs are honky-tonk, they’re country, they’re bluegrass, whatever. They’re fun. Norah is as captivating as ever and the songs are played expertly. This is a great record, even if you don’t like the genres mentioned. I am not really what one would consider a fan normally, but I love this.

Stand out songs: Roly Poly, Gotta Get Drunk, Easy as Rain (nice duet)

Posted on March 6, 2006

Track Listing
1. Roly Poly
2. I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive
3. Love Me
4. It’s Not You It’s Me
5. Best of All Possible Worlds
6. No Place To Fall
7. Roll On
8. Gotta Get Drunk
9. Streets of Baltimore
10. Easy As The Rain
11. Tennessee Stud
12. Night Life
13. Lou Reed

[The Little Willies Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.