Album Review: The Sound of You and Me by Garrison Starr

Album Name: The Sound of You and Me
Artist: Garrison Starr
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Garrison Starr’s 2002 release, Songs from Take off to Landing and it remains one of my favorite discs. I guess I missed one or two in between, but I was happy to get my hot little hands on an advance copy of her latest, The Sound of You and Me”.

I feel there’s a little less Americana on this release than on her previous stuff; which is fine my me. There’s still a little twang, but for the most part, this is a pop record, and a very good one.

The production is fantastic. There are many small little twings here and there that are all caught nicely. Sounds great on headphones!

I’ve always enjoyed Starr’s voice. It’s sweet and powerful and the same time and even has a little smoky sound to it. If possible, it seems to get better as she ages.

She’s also a very skilled songwriter. The melodies are comfortable without being too predictable. The lyrics are intelligent and clever, as to be expected from her.

A word on the artwork…lovely. The colors are great and I love the dandelions.

Stand out songs: “Sing it Like a Victim”, “We Were Just Boys and Girls” but all these songs are great. This is going in my personal rotation for sure.

Posted on March 10, 2006

Track Listing
1. Pendulum
2. Let Me In
3. Sing it Like a Victim
4. Pretending
5. Big Enough
6. Beautiful in Los Angeles
7. Kansas City, Kansas
8. Black and White
9. Cigarettes and Spearmint
10. No Man’s Land
11. We Were Just Boys and Girls

[Garrison Starr Official Site]
– beware, all you Flash haters, it’s Flash-tastic


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.