Album Review: This Mortal Lust by Melinda Gidaly

Album Name: This Mortal Lust
Artist: Melinda Gidaly
Year/Label: 2002 / Independent

Review by Anne Deming

Singer/songwriter Melinda Gidaly’s sound is rather unique. There is a definite medieval quality to her music, much like a ballad singer in old England. Cantoring is her most commonly used style of vocalization throughout the CD, “This Mortal Lust”, as well as demonstrating an impressive singing range with almost every song.

She often combines a variety of phraseology throughout the album, such as long, slow lyrics followed by a quick succession of short, fiery words. At times difficult to follow, Melinda continually catches the listener off guard by switching sounds, leading instruments and throwing in a bright harmony or two smack dab in the middle of a song. This technique leaves the listener with an interesting phrase or two lingering on the tip of their tongue for days.

If I were forced to classify “This Mortal Lust” I would have to say it’s medieval, gothic folk; lots of strumming with some bass, horns and keyboard thrown in a song or two to spice things up a bit. Her style is very distinctive and the album has a definite theme; cover art, lyrics and sound come together to form a very complete picture of Melinda Gidaly.

Comedy was probably not her intention but I get the impression that some of these songs would go over nicely in a Monty Python film. Titles such as “Every Heart a Home”, “Cheesecake Chronicles” and “Spanakopita” made me smile just thinking about what the song would have to offer.

Cheeky and somewhat melodramatic, this CD offers us a glimpse of the wide variety of artists Canada brings to the global table of music.

Posted on October 20, 2002

Track Listing
1. Memory of Lust
2. Anthony
3. You: Desert, Not Deserted
4. Fanetti Garden
5. Every Heart a Home
6. Beautiful South
7. Cheesecake Chronicles
8. (In)Visible Girl
9. Conquor
10. Spanikopita

[Melinda Gidaly Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.