Album Review: Until Now by Tima Montemayer

Album Name: Until Now
Artist: Tima Montemayer
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Tima Montemayer Official Site]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Tima Montemayer (That’s not a typo, her name is TIMA, not Tina) has released a lovely debut CD. Her voice is pretty and comfortable sounding and matches the music well.

The songwriting is somewhere in the neighborhood of jazz and contemporary pop. It’s apparent that she and the musicians she surrounds herself with are a talented group.

“Steps Away” has a background vocal thing (ohh-way-ooh) that gives it a bit of a modern jazz/World sound.

“Do Ya” has some nice and intricate piano work.

Title track, “Until Now”, shows off her lovely voice. It’s a pretty ballad.

A nice outing for those who like their piano rock more jazzy, mellow than rock.

Posted on October 12, 2005

Track Listing
1. Steps Away
2. Raining
3. All I Need
4. How Long
5. Empty Spaces
6. Do Ya
7. Sincerely Yours
8. You Forgot the Girl
9. Until Now
10. What Do I Have to Do?
11. Like an Angel
12. Tempt Me
13. This Dance
14. Can’t Let Go

[Tima Montemayer Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.