Album Review: Wind Chains by Molly Zenobia

Album Name: Wind Chains
Artist: Molly Zenobia
Year/Label: 2001 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Someone on a mailing list I am on mentioned Molly Zenobia probably over a year or so now. I was able to hear a clip at that time but no more information was available, much to my dismay. So when this recording arrived I was very happy. And I have not been disappointed. This young woman has real talent. She’s a great pianist with a flair for intricate twinkly sounds, has a gorgeous deep voice, and writes some amazing songs.

When I first started listening to this a few artists came to mind (Sarah Slean, Terami Hirsch, Rachael Sage) but upon further listens I realized she’s really not like any of these, Molly Zenobia is really unique. That is not to say that she’s not in the same vein as those artists, she’s just a tad different.

“Porcupine” has a great dirge-y cabaret-like piano and sultry vocals. Jill Tracy would be proud.

“Mermaids” is downright haunting. I feel like I’m sitting in a cave in the middle of the ocean at night. This song would be perfect in a film to set the mood (if scary but peaceful were the mood one was looking to create).

Well, if I were to name each song I liked and why I’d end up going through the whole 14 song CD so let’s just leave it at “you really must listen to this yourself”. You can hear song samples on her website and through CD Baby where you can also purchase (and I suggest you do).

Posted on December 1, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Frozen
2. Porcupine
3. Whirlpool
4. Mermaids
5. Porcelain
6. Hello
7. Bubblegum
8. Paper Clip
9. Tombstone
10. Lullabee
11. King Aeolus
12. Fade
13. Silent Spring
14. Night Light

[Molly Zenobia Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.