Album Review: Mebane’s Eleven by Tangria Jazz Group


Album Name: Mebane’s Eleven, Tunes for Two by

Artist: Tangria Jazz Group

Year/Label: 2006 / LABEL

I’m not usually too keen on reviewing jazz music because I don’t really know anything about it. I write something I think of or feel and then end up looking stupid (or being verbally reamed by someone who does ‘know jazz’) so I tend to steer clear, it’s scares me.

So I’ll say little about this except for it’s cool. I can see it coming in handy for fancy cocktails parties or nice dinners. It’s good conversation music for someone like me who is not well versed in jazz.

*One thing that confuses me greatly: The CD says on it: Mebane’s Eleven, Tunes for Two and Tangria Jazz Group. I assume the name of the record is Tunes for Two, but is the group name Mebane’s Eleven or Tangria Jazz Group? And to make things more confusing when I put it in my computer, CDDB shows the artist as Sheryl Mebane. Don’t even bother looking at the spine of the CD you’ll be even more confused.

Ok upon further investigation (CDBaby to the rescue again) I find that the group is Tangria Jazz Group, and the CD title is Mebane’s Eleven: Tunes for Two. Whew! I guess someone just filled out CDDB wrong. I think they need a designer for their cover art. Anyway, the music is cool if you like this sort of thing, and I do occasionally, it’s just not everyday music for me.

Track Listing

1. Teach Yourself to Live Elsewhere
2. Money Time
3. Warm
4. Ethan’s Song
5. Solar
6. Freedom Jazz Dance
7. Reactions
8. Gemini
9. Breathe Easy
10. Money Time (alt take)
11. Warm (alt take)

[Tangria Jazz Group Official Site]

[Buy at CD Baby]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.