Album Review: 22 Mountains by Danielle Lo Presti and the Masses

Album Name: 22 Mountains
Artist: Danielle Lo Presti and the Masses
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Wow is this CD ever a refreshing change of pace! We’ve got rock, pop, rap and jazz all on one CD and Danielle Lo Presti knows her way around all those genres.

First of all, the opening track, “Get Over It” will rock you off your feet. She goes from sultry, to screaming, to rap and then back to gentle whispers. Great song.

The second track is equally impressive. The melody is haunting and draws the listener in making us want more.

The musicianship on this recording is a cut above. There is a very driven rhythm here. I guess this is to be expected from a band that has 3 drummers.

But you’ve got to love a woman who has a song called, “Dear Mr. Penis Head” (not on this release but on her previous release by the same name) which was penned as an open letter to a music business exec who was less than nice to her.

This is one of those records to put in when you’re not sure what mood you’re in. There is definitely something for everyone here.

Posted:September 9, 2003

Track Listing
1. Get Over It
2. Easier Than This
3. Crashing Down
4. Never Going Back
5. Black Queen
6. Happy
7. 22 Mountains
8. Come To My
9. Rearview
10. Familia
11. Disrespect
12. Growing / Old
13. Imagining

[Danielle Lo Presti and the Masses Official Site]



Rating: 4 Stars

Great Record!
~Anna Maria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.