Album Review: Guts and Garbage by Kirsten Price

Album Name: Guts and Garbage

Artist: Kirsten Price

Year/Label: 2008 / KPI

My original thought when I saw this CD was that it didn’t look like something that would appeal to me. My copy had a different image. She looked really hard and sort of bluesy. But I listened anyway, as I always do.

Color me pleasantly surprised. Some songs are still a bit harder than what I generally like. But I do like some of her songs. She’s more of a soulful pop style. Definitely blues in there, but there’s lots of other stuff as well. There’s a radio-friendly party feel to this. By that I mean, good to have on the background or as theme music to driving, but not something I’m going to sit down and contemplate.

All Right is good. It’s very melodic. I like it much better than Crazy Sexy Beautiful which is too…something…not sure what…for me.

5 Days Old, while starting out bluesy, is still really cool sounding. But I kind of wish it had not turned so dance-y.

I’m finding that I enjoy how the songs start out, but then just before they hit the chorus they make a turn that I wish they didn’t.

So for the most part, not for me. But she’s talented so I hesitate to say anything too negative about her. I can only describe what works and doesn’t for me. I’m about 50/50 on this. I could be swayed either way.

Track Listing

1. Magic Tree
2. Crazy Beautiful
3. Fall
4. Let Me Go
5. All Right
6. Possibilities
7. Red Hot
8. 5 Days Old
9. Bring Me Back
10. Freedom

[Kirsten Price MySpace] (no official Site)


3 comments for “Album Review: Guts and Garbage by Kirsten Price

  1. June 13, 2008 at 2:09 pm


    This album was made available digitally in Nov. 2007 and is about to have it’s physical release. It hits the stores July 1st 2008 and the record label is KPI.

    Please correct the post!!

    Thanks 🙂


  2. amy
    June 13, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Sorry! My Template said 2006 and so some of these got entered wrongly. Corrected!

  3. Amy
    August 16, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I just got a second copy of this CD today, so if anyone wants it, comment here and I’ll send it off to you! (USA only please, I ain’t made o’ money!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *