Album Review: Little Things by Toby Lightman

Album Name: Little Things
Artist: Toby Lightman
Year/Label: 2004 / Lava Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I was first sent a 4 song sampler before this advance was ready and like it very much. I was anxious to hear the full length and I’m happy to report the rest of the CD is just as good as those 4 songs.

Lightman’s sound is somewhere in the vein of rock/R&B/pop and sometimes a little funky. Her voice is strong and sexy. The songs are well written and professionally produced creating a CD rich in vocals and instrumentation.

Her sound and voice are quite unique but the most helpful comparison might be to another woman featured on Collected Sounds named Rosey.

“Devils and Angels” seems to be the “single” as it’s the one she’s already done a video for. Word is, it’s already being played on MTV. It’s a very powerful pop song. She’s coming from a similar frame of reference as Alanis Morrisette’s “You Oughtta Know” (though maybe not with so much anger, but more disappointment). Very solid song that I predict will be a big hit.

The other songs, though perhaps won’t grab you and scream HIT as loudly as this one (though maybe they will), are equally good. Other standouts are, “Frightened” and “Everyday”. I can also see “Front Row” being a big hit. It’s a strong and funky song.

I see great things in Toby Lightman’s future.

Posted on February 18, 2004

Track Listing
1. Leave It Inside
2. Devils and Angels
3. Coming Back In
4. Frightened
5. The River
6. Voices
7. Little Thing
8. Front Row
9. Everyday
10. Is This Right
11. Don’t Wanna Know
12. Running Away

[Toby Lightman Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.