Album Review: Picture This by Andrea Florian

Album Name: Picture This
Artist: Andrea Florian
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is Andrea Florian’s 5th release (4th full length) but a first for me. I’ve known of her music for a long time but had never actually gotten a CD. Wow, I’ve been missing out!

Andrea is very talented. I’ve listened to this CD many times and I like it more with each listen. I mean, it grabbed me at first, but I officially love it now.

She is yet another very talented woman from Canada (I ought to just move there and be surrounded by great music all the time). She even reminds me of my favorite Canadian (Sarah McLachlan) at times. But Andrea is not quite as “ethereal” she’s much more down to earth. Her songs are well crafted with fantastic melodies that grab the listener and don’t let go. The lyrics are thoughtful and clever.

The genre would probably be classified as pop/rock but also has a little folksy feel.

Stand out tracks for me are “Rolling”…I’m kidding; it’s a six-second piece that sounds like a synthesized drum roll and someone making a “yep” sound (and something else I can’t make out because I can only turn my speakers up *so loud here at work).

“The Rain Song” is so radio-friendly that it ought to be on every station (non-Clear Channel, that is).

“Still Standing” is a solid pop song with great rhythm, vocals and…well everything.

“Passing Notes” is burned on my brain and I hope it never leaves. Her vocals reminded me a tad of Abra Moore on this track.

“Quite the Night” is another beautiful song.

Florian contributes piano and vocals and also has a large team of musicians helping out on this recording. It’s a beautiful package. I can’t say enough good things about this recording. Go order it and see for yourself!

Posted on June 1, 2003

Track Listing
1. Rolling
2. The Rain Song
3. Still Standing
4. Thunder
5. Passing Notes
6. Time
7. Eyes Closed Tightly
8. Beautiful
9. Understand
10. Picture This
11. Quite The Night
12. The End

[Andrea Florian Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.