Album Review: Rabblerouser by Joy Mills

Album Name: Rabblerouser
Artist: Joy Mills
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

At first glance I knew I’d like this CD. There is something about this the look. I can’t explain it. Is it her photo? The color of the CD? The Font? Makes no difference, I was right.

The music is folk at it’s best. Nice guitar line, both strumming and finger picking. She also has some help from her partner (who I think is also her partner in life) Tom Parker. He does some harmony and plays guitar on several tracks along with bass player Rick McKenzie.

Stand out songs for me are: title track, “Rabblerouser”, “Roadside”, and “Sophia”

This is a nice folk CD full of accomplished guitar playing, well-written songs, good vocals and interesting story songs.

Strange Note: I was just thinking that she reminded me of Cat Kinsey. They are both from Iowa, now living in Seattle, both folk singer/songwriter/guitar players who sometimes play with a male fellow musician. While I was looking at Joy’s website I thought, oh I’ll just check out her gigs…well she’s playing tonight (September 9th) with none other than Cat Kinsey!

Posted on September 9, 2003

Track Listing
1. Rabblerouser
2. Spellbound
3. Tom’s Folk Song
4. Pirates & Princesses
5. Roadside
6. January
7. The Lion
8. Sophia
9. Catherine
10. Train Song
11. Time Machine
12. Pagan Love

[Joy Mills Official Site]


5 Stars
I’m Joy’s father and I couldn’t be more proud of her accomplishments, especially with her first CD. I am partial to her songs January, Roadside and The Train Song. Thank you for the complimentary review. We know she has the talent, now we are just waiting for her to get that big break.
~Jim Mills

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.