Album Review: The Republic of Heaven by The Endless

Album Name: The Republic of Heaven
Artist: The Endless
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve heard several of The Endless’ recording and many have been reviewed here either by myself or Anna Maria. Each recording has been a very nice one.

Their sound is similar to Tresspassers William, Story of M, Terami Hirsch and the like. It’s very atmospheric, ethereal, layered and lovely.

[Note: oh, I just read that it was mastered by the same man, Matt Brown, who has worked with Tresspassers William so I guess it’s no surprise they sound similar]

The Endless lead singer, Adriana Roze, has a beautiful voice that glides and swoops over the lush landscapes that the music produces. It’s prominent but never over powering.

The songs are well written (including the intelligent and imagery laden lyrics) and professionally performed creating a first class record which fans of ambient, trip-hop, electronic rock will no doubt enjoy.

This probably would have made it to my Best of 2005 list had I reviewed it in time.

Stand out songs: “Simply Sleep”, “On the Mend” and “Not A Man Of God”, however, if you like one, my guess is you’ll like them all.

Posted on December 20, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Initiation
2. Pentecost
3. Labyrinth
4. Simply Sleep
5. Huntington
6. On The Mend
7. Wraiths
8. A Lullaby For Myself
9. Not A Man Of God
10. Clouded
11. Republic Of Heaven
12. Closing Rite

[The Endless Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.