Album Review: The Sins of Others by The Drews

Album Name: The Sins of Others
Artist: The Drews
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

When I heard that The Drew were labeled Rock-Country-Blues-Folk I was not expecting something I would like, since Country and Blues are two genres I don’t care for. Then for some reason the cover art made me think it would be rap or hip hop. So things were not looking good for The Drews getting a positive review from Collected Sounds.

Luckily, these things didn’t matter once I put the CD on. The sound is indeed country-ish but also has this pop sensibility and is humorous in the way the Gear Daddies approached country music (I’m still a huge fan of theirs). I might call this alternative bluegrass or something like that. I don’t hear real blues, thank goodness.

This is their second album. Their first being Strategically Interrupted Silence, in 2001.

The vocals on “Not So Near To Here” are a combination of Johnny Cash and Brad Roberts (from the Crash Test Dummies).

The country roots show in the lyrics as well, they have a lot of words ending with in’. “Make Me Scream” has some pretty suggestive lyrics…yes, it’s about what you think it is.

“The Sins of Others” is a fun ride. I mean, you gotta love a band that has drinking songs, right? Or is that drinkin’?

Posted on May 4, 2005

Track Listing
1. Not So Near To Here
2. Space and Time
3. Nasty Girls
4. Bones At Eleven
5. God’s Green Room
6. Dutch Flowers
7. The Sins of Others
8. Jimmy Do
9. Make Me Scream
10. Necroditty
11. Black Skimmer

[The Drews Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.