Album Review: Timeless by Mary Martin Stockdale

Album Name: Timeless
Artist: Mary Martin Stockdale
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

There isn’t a lot I can say about instrumental piano music. If I were a composer my self, I am sure I could comment on the measures, the meter, etc. But I don’t know a lot of music theory so I am not equipped that way. I can’t comment on the lyrics or the voice because there isn’t any. But I can say that this recording is very relaxing and lovely to listen to.

I have long been a George Winston fan. I listened to his music while I was studying, sleeping (sometimes both of those things at the same time) or just relaxing. Stockdale’s style is similar to Winston’s. I feel like this music is perfect for playing during a nice romantic dinner, or for just lying down with your eyes closed and hearing every note.

Stockdale’s prowess on the piano is apparent, even to non-composers like myself. The music is lovely. It’s like the soundtrack to a dream.

Posted on August 23, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Timeless
2. Willows by the Stream
3. The Calling
4. Spider’s Web
5. Henry’s Song
6. Catch & Release
7. Raindance
8. Healing
9. Appearances
10. Bluebird Waltz
11. Smoke in the Valley
12. Runnin’ Fence
13. Falling Snow

[Mary Martin Stockdale Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.